DASH THROUGH THE PAST on November 5, 2011: The Florida Public Archaeology Network’s Southeast Region is hosting a run/walk to commemorate Fort Lauderdale’s 100th anniversary. Come dash or stroll through Fort Lauderdale’s rich history, stopping to complete photo challenges along the Riverwalk. The Fort Lauderdale History Center will be two of the seven stops and participants will have an opportunity to experience life as it was in the early 1900s. Teams of two or more compete over a 2.5 mile course for great prizes including a 2-night stay at the Riverside Hotel. The race begins at 10 AM at the plaza of Florida Atlantic University’s Fort Lauderdale Campus.
The $15 registration is limited to 100 people and includes reusable aluminum water bottle. Registration at fauf.fau.edu/past, or for more information contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
ABOUT THE FORT LAUDERDALE HISTORICAL SOCIETY: Formed in 1962, the Society is responsible for the restoration, preservation and interpretation of the Fort Lauderdale History Center (FLHC). FLHC is home to six different buildings (four of which are historic): the New River Inn, built in 1905; the Philemon Bryan House, built in 1905; the Acetylene Building, built in 1905; the King-Cromartie House, built in 1907; the Hoch Heritage Center, built in the 1940s as a post office warehouse; and the 1899 Replica Schoolhouse. All of the buildings are open to the public over 300 days a year. Through a wide range of educational programs, exhibits, publications, research, tours, outreach and the historic preservation of our buildings, the Historical Society shares the story of the history of our community and the individuals who shaped it.